We’re pleased to announce that the 2023 Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards are now open for entries

The annual awards honour the exceptional work of Scotland-based journalists covering refugee and asylum-related stories.

With global events and the political landscape in the UK keeping refugee issues in the headlines, we need fair, honest and accurate journalism more than ever.

Have you read, watched or heard an exceptional piece of journalism this year? Nominate a journalist or piece of work for an award. 

Good reporters hold governments to account. They ask key questions of the Home Office and its asylum subcontractors. And they make sure people with personal experience of asylum are included in the coverage.

We rely on journalists to look behind the headlines, to report responsibly and with dignity on the many varied lives and stories of people affected by forced migration.

The awards are open to journalists working across seven categories including:
  • Print news
  • Print features
  • Broadcast
  • Radio
  • Photography
  • Local
  • Investigation

The Refugee Festival Media Awards is coordinated by Scottish Refugee Council in partnership with the National Union of Journalists Scotland.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, 15 May. Find more information on eligibility and how to apply.


Pauline D
Author: Pauline D