AViewfromHere newsletter
A View from Here

Coordinated by Scottish Refugee Council, British Red Cross and the National Union of Journalists in Scotland, the Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards recognise high quality, fair and accurate coverage of issues affecting refugees and asylum seekers. Anyone can nominate a journalist working in Scotland for the awards.

Journalists are invited to nominate their own work or the work of their colleagues by submitting an example for consideration. The public is also welcome to nominate work. Entries must have been published, or broadcast, between 1 April 2016 to 30 March 2017.

This year there are six categories, as follows:

  • ·         Print (features)
  • ·         Print (news)
  • ·         Local press
  • ·         Broadcast (TV, radio, film)
  • ·         Online and multimedia
  • ·         Student

Student entries must have been published/ broadcast, which can include student journals / student websites.

Award entries will be initially longlisted by Scottish Refugee Council and British Red Cross, and then shortlisted by a judging panel including refugees, writers and media experts.

How to enter

Step 1: Download an entry form: Entry Media Awards 2017

Step 2: Complete the entry form

Step 3: Post or email the entry form along with your submission to:

Media Officer, Scottish Refugee Council, 17 Renfield Street, Glasgow G2 7PH or rachel.hamada@scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk Please mark all entries ‘Entry to Refugee Media Awards 2017’

Closing date for entries is Friday 28 April 2017

Guidance and rules

  • You can nominate a piece of your own work or the work of a colleague.
  • Members of the public can also nominate the work of a journalist.
  • Entries must have been published or broadcast between 1 April 2016 to 30 March 2017
  • The award is open to journalists working in Scotland, in print, broadcast or digital media.
  • Submissions can be drawn from Scottish print, broadcast or digital media.
  • Journalists working for a named employer, working freelance or contributing voluntarily to a media outlet must have produced the submission.
  • A submission of work, which should have been published or broadcast in Scotland between 31st May 2016 and 30 March 2017, should be submitted for consideration.
  • Please send broadcast submissions in DVD or CD format if at all possible.
  • The deadline for submissions is Friday 28 April 2017.
  • The judging panel will include writers, media experts and refugees.
  • The judges’ decision is final.
  • The judges will not enter into any correspondence regarding the judging of the competition.
  • Submitted entries cannot be returned.

For more information about the awards please contact Rachel Hamada on 07850 930418 (Mon-Tues), 0141 248 9799 or media@scottishrefugeecouncil.org.uk.

Chris Pettigrew
Author: Chris Pettigrew